Patient Contact Course

March 20, 2009 at 6:33 am (randoms)

over the span of our patient contact course, we are taught various questioning and consultation styles, as well as given simulated patients to practice our interview skills on. these tutorials come complete with video reviews (we are taped during the session) and feedback from the actors and other doctors.

i read a number of excellent blogs written by doctors occasionally to see what it’s like on the “other side”, such as Dr Crippen, aka The NHS Blog Doctor as well as the fairly entertaining “Blog that ate Manhattan”.

i was just reading a bit more about the different types of consultation styles frequently employed when i came across this particularly funny no-win situation for the author from the latter blog:

Me: Are you sexually active?
Patient A: No.
Me: So, when was the last time you had sex?
Patient A: Last week.
Me: I’m sorry, I thought you said you weren’t sexually active. Should I have asked that differently?
Patient A: You should have just asked me if I have sex.

Me: Do you have sex?
Patient B: Not really.
Me: So you’re not sexually active.
Patient B: No, I am.
Me: And the last time you had sex was…?
Patient B: Yesterday.
Me: I seem to be asking the wrong question…
Patient B: You should just ask me when was the last time I had sex.

Me: When was the last time you had sex?
Patient C (annoyed): How do you know I have sex?
Me: I was just asking…
Patient C: Why not just ask me if I’m sexually active?

and of course, the final one which i’m sure nearly everyone must have heard of:

Q: Are you sexually active?
A: No, I just lie there.

Leave a Reply

