Scrubs: My Finale

May 7, 2009 at 11:20 pm (med, school, randoms)

“Endings are never easy. I always build them up so much in my head, they can’t possibly live up to my expectations, and I just end up disappointed. I’m not even sure why it matters to me so much how things end here. I guess it’s because that we all want to believe that what we do is very important: that people hang on to our every word, that people care what we think. The truth is, you should consider yourself lucky if you even occasionally get to make someone, anyone, feel a little better. After that, it’s all about the people you let into your life.” -J.D.

those who know me well enough would also know that i’ve never really been much of a TV drama series person, apart from the odd nose-poke here and there into a particular series for a couple of episodes to see what the big fuss was all about (cue Desperate Housewives, Heroes, Lost, Gossip Girls….the last of which my nose is still smarting badly from, thanks to the ultimate brainlessness of the whole storyline)
.
Scrubs however has been the only constant that has always followed me, and which i’ve always followed since i was little; even in the midst of studying my arse off for school exams – all in the hopes that one day i would eventually get to don the titular scrubs that my TV hero J.D proudly wore around.
.
to me at least, it was undoubtedly one of the best TV series, successfully combining comedy, fantasy and tragedy; a formula that i’ve never seen repeated elsewhere.
.
and of course, even before “The O.C.” and “Grey’s Anatomy” made it de riguer to close episodes with montages scored to cool indie rock songs, “Scrubs” was regularly making beautiful use of off-the-beaten-path music, unearthing singers unheard of to most such as Joshua Radin.
.
i laughed with the characters, and my heart broke with them too. so it was with great sadness that i realised it was going to be the final episode of Scrubs i would be watching.

“My Finale” made me smile, and it made me nostalgic at the same time. without wanting to spoil it too much for those who haven’t caught it yet, the last episode gives us all those flashbacks to J.D. in the pilot, to show how far he’s come — and, for that matter, to show how much the characters around him grew and changed with him. most importantly however, it provides closure to all the characters of Sacred Heart Hospital.
.
“Even though it felt warm and safe, I knew it had to end…” J.D. says as he leaves Sacred Heart for the last time. “It’s never good to live in the past too long.”
.
perhaps it’s a good thing that the series ended when it did, as it was fast tiring of repeated jokes over the span of 8 long seasons – yet i’ve grown and learnt so much over the course of the series together with J.D, that i’ll forever treasure this series for having imparted so many poignant moments and lessons in life; just a few of my favourites which i’ve linked below:
.
Ben’s funeral – Ben Sullivan: A carpenter/expert photographer who was Jordan and Danni’s older brother and Cox’s brother-in-law and best friend. Dr. Cox angrily blames J.D. for a patient’s death and dismisses him, but Ben calms Dr. Cox down, and he eventually apologizes to J.D.On the way to Jack’s birthday party, Ben tells Dr. Cox to forgive himself for the patient’s death, which he does. When J.D. arrives and breaks their reverie, Dr. Cox realizes that Ben is not there, and that they are at a funeral rather than Jack’s party; the final scenes reveal that Ben is the patient who died, and that his presence has only been in spirit. The episode ends as a heartbroken Dr. Cox uncharacteristically allows those around to comfort him.
.
My Old Lady – J.D., Turk and Elliot are each assigned a patient as J.D. ponders a statistic about how one out of three patients will die — a stat that turns out to be tragically optimistic
.
JD tries to comfort Dr. Cox in “My Lunch”.
Leave a Reply

